A Civic Media radio station

Civic Media Logo
Voters pick Spring Election candidates, reject school referendums Tuesday

Source: Stuart Wattles / Civic Media

Voters pick Spring Election candidates, reject school referendums Tuesday

Election fields for the spring were set Tuesday night, but 3 area school districts couldn't pass their referendums.

February 20, 2024 10:03 PM CDT

By: Jimmie Kaska & Stuart Wattles

RACINE, Wis. (WRJN) – Voters in southeastern Wisconsin picked their candidates to appear on the 2024 Spring Election ballots and rejected a handful of school referendum questions on Tuesday.

In Racine County, incumbent Mollie Jones and Tyler Townsend advanced out of a group of four candidates to the spring ballot for District 2 Alderperson. In District 4, David Maack and Jacqueline Schrader will move on to face one another for the seat vacated by Amanda Paffrath.

Kenosha County voters had to pick between nine mayoral candidates, largely settling on David Bogdala and Lydia Spottswood, who earned 39.14% and 31.01% of the vote total respectively to face each other for the vacant seat this spring. Frank Gagliardi and Heather Iverson took the most votes in the primary for Branch 3 Circuit Court Judge and will advance to the spring ballot. Also, incumbent Jan Michalski took 69.8% of the primary votes and will face Tanya McLean for District 3 Alderperson this spring.

Three southeastern Wisconsin school districts sought referendums this election, and all four questions between the three districts failed. Wilmot Union got the closest to passing, with 45.66% voting yes and 54.34% voting no on a $7.5 million operational referendum.

Waterford, which asked two questions, saw both of its referendums fail. The first question, a $14.16 million operational referendum, had 2,634 no votes and 2,212 yes votes. The second question, for $77.8 million for facilities updates, only garnered 1,883 yes votes to 2,954 no votes. Burlington, which was asking for $11 million in an operational referendum, saw its question rejected 3,432 to 2,724.

Milwaukee County voters overwhelmingly picked incumbent mayor Cavalier Johnson in the primary, where he picked up 84.79% of the votes. He’ll face David King this spring.

You can find a list of county clerk websites that will show full election results on Wisconsin’s election information page. All results from Tuesday night are considered unofficial until canvassing takes place in the days following the election.

For information on Wisconsin’s elections, you can visit the Wisconsin Elections Commission. You can also see who has registered to run in different races and see candidate nomination paperwork.

More Articles